Mexico’s squad numbers revealed after Osorio confirms 23-man group

Juan Carlos Osorio finally confirmed his 23-man World Cup squad last night, with Pachuca’s Erick Gutierrez the unlucky man to miss out.

The confirmation of the final squad means the FMF could finally reveal the team’s squad numbers ahead of the tournament.

Chucky Lozano was handed his favored number 22 shirt while Jesus Corona was given number one, despite being unlikely to start the first game against Germany between the sticks. Rafa Marquez—who will play in a historic fifth tournament—was given his usual number four. The other two goalkeepers will wear 12 and 13.

Four players will line-up without their surname on the back of their shirt. They are Javier Hernandez (Chicharito), Raul Jimenez (Raul), Carlos Vela (Carlos V) and Jesús Manuel Corona (Jesus C).

Here are the squad numbers in full:

1. Jesús Corona
2. Hugo Ayala
3. Carlos Salcedo
4. Rafael Márquez
5. Diego Reyes
6. Jonathan dos Santos
7. Miguel Layún
8. Marco Fabián
9. Raúl Jiménez
10. Giovani dos Santos
11. Carlos Vela
12. Alfredo Talavera
13. Guillermo Ochoa
14. Javier Hernández
15. Héctor Moreno
16. Héctor Herrera
17. Jesus Manuel Corona
18. Andrés Guardado
19. Oribe Peralta
20. Javier Aquino
21. Edson Álvarez
22. Hirving Lozano
23. Jesús Gallardo

(via Milenio)

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment